If you are visiting us from another state, here are the specifics on legal requirements and state laws.
One of the best ways to avoid an unwanted conversation with local law enforement is to ensure you and your ride are legal to operate in Florida.
Make sure you are properly endorsed and that your bike at least meets minimum requirements.
Be sure if you choose to ride helmet free that you carry the required extra medical coverage, wear your eye protection (not doing that will get you stopped), and that your motorcycle has the basics in good working order.
Safety Helmet 316.211 Equipment for motorcycle and moped riders.-- Not required over 21 with a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance Read the entire statute here
State Funded Rider Ed Effective July 1, 2008 all first-time motorcycle license or endorsement applicants must complete a BRC, per Florida Statutes, Section 322.12(5)(a).
Eye Protection Required by law
Daytime Use of Headlight Required by law-modulating headlight permitted
Passenger Seat Required if carrying a passenger
Passenger Footrest Required if carrying a passenger
Passenger Age Restriction None
Helmet Speakers No earphones allowed. Helmet speakers are allowed.
Periodic Safety Inspection None
Mirror Left(L) Right(R) One required by law
Radar Detector No Restriction
Turn Signals Required
Muffler 316.293 (5) Noise Abatement Equipment Modifications (a) No person shall modify the exhaust system of a motor vehicle or any other noise-abatement device of a motor vehicle operated or to be operated upon the highways of this state in such a manner that the noise emitted by the motor vehicle is above that emitted by the vehicle as originally manufactured. (b) No person shall operate a motor vehicle upon the highways of the state with an exhaust system or noise-abatement device so modified.
Maximum Sound Level Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 feet from center line of travel (Sec. 316.293): 1) Manufactured before 1/1/79--82dBA (35mph or less); 86dBA (over 35mph) 2)Manufactured after 1/1/79--78dBA(35mph or less); 82dBA(over 35mph).
State Insurance Requirements FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY LAW-IT DOES APPLY TO MOTORCYCLES! Florida's No-Fault, or "PIP Law" does not apply to motorcycles. HOWEVER, the Financial Responsibility FR Law applies to ALL motor vehicles in Florida, including motorcycles. Thus the voluntary purchase of motor vehicle liability insurance by an owner, operator or owner/ operator is highly recommended. Failure to carry property damage and bodily injury liability insurance in case of a crash, DUI conviction or other occurrences outlined in Florida's FR Law, Ch. 324, may result in some or all of the following: Loss of license/tag and registration, and/or restitution or civil court judgment, and future proof (three years) of high risk, SR22 mandatory liability insurance coverage just to keep your driver license - even if you do not own any motor vehicles. Source: Florida Motorcycle Handbook 2006
Handlebar Height No higher than top of shoulders of the operator when seated upon the motorcycle.
Rider-Education Waiver Skill & Knowledge Test
Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States Yes
Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States N/A
Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane Yes. 316.209 - Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic.-- (1) All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane.
Lane Splitting 316.209 Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic (2) The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. (3) No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.